Homemade Holidays

With the holidays in full swing, I thought it would be appropriate to begin fresh with an awesome new blog. I’ve tried the blogging thing before with very little luck, but since my focus this year is homemade instead of store-bought for my girls, I felt that it would be a great time to document my journeys into Pinterest and other crafty-type things to see what I come up with!

On our Christmas tree this year, we’re doing things a little different. I bought some plain ornaments, and sometime this weekend each person will decorate one with whatever they want! But, while wandering around Pinterest, I came across the cutest DIY hat ornaments. This lead me to gather up some of the best DIY ornament ideas that I could find because who doesn’t want a tree filled with awesome memories and meaningful ornaments? So without further adieu, here is my very first holiday roundup!

Each picture is owned by the blogs that took them. They are cited right below this post in order.
Each picture is owned by the blogs that took them. They are cited right below this post in order.
Salt-dough Ornaments: The Imagination Tree has a fantastic recipe and tutorial on how to make handprint salt-dough ornaments for your Christmas tree! What a great way to save the little times.

Beaded Candy Cane Ornaments: Fountain Avenue Kitchen did an adorable post about different ornaments to make with the kids. My favorite has to be the beaded candy cane ornaments made with beads and pipe cleaners. What a great way to have the candy-cane look without worrying about someone eating a twelve-year-old candy cane on your tree! (This may or may not have happened in my life…. I can neither confirm nor deny this.)

Cinnamon Spice Ornaments: I don’t know about you, but I remember making these things in school, and our house forever smelled of delicious cinnamon and spice when we opened up the ornaments box at Christmas time. Simply Notable has an awesome recipe for these ornaments, and they will make your home smell like Christmas for years to come!

Yarn Ornaments: I have a lot of yarn at my house. A lot. So crafts like these where I can take some of my scraps and make something adorable are a huge plus in my house! Decora Recicla Imagina isn’t in English, but the photo tutorials are easy to follow in any language. Check it out!

Winter Hat Ornaments: This one falls into the awesome yarn-scrap ornaments pile. These little hats are so cute, and you could make one for each person in your family! This tutorial comes from Goodknits, and I definitely recommend it for those that have a ridiculous amount of scrap yarn to work with. Even if you don’t, they would still be fun to make!

A lot of these I chose because they are simple enough for my two and three-year-old to help participate in, but there are so many others that you could do or come up with! Do you have a favorite Christmas DIY? Share it below; I would love to hear from you.

Leave a Reply

